Return to Headlines

Once a Ram, Always a Ram: Athletic Hall of Fame Induction

Congratulations to our Randolph Athletic Hall of Fame inductees who were honored this past weekend by the Randolph Hall of Fame Committee. Superintendent Jennifer Fano had the following words to say about this year’s inductees: “Athletics in Randolph play a key part in educating the whole child and has for many decades. The athletes, coaches, and volunteers who are being recognized by the Hall of Fame this year all helped to shape Randolph’s phenomenal reputation. The countless hours and commitment each honoree has dedicated serve as an example for our children and their families. The gifts each inductee has shared with the community are invaluable.”
This year’s inductees were Dr. Matthew Wainer, Anne Standridge, Len Pietrewicz, Pam Hovliaras, Rob Tomaino, Tim Hakim, the 1987 football team, and the 1992-1993 wrestling team.
Dr. Matthew Wainer served as the first Superintendent of Randolph Schools from 1963 - 1981. He was a strong supporter of the district’s athletic program and marching band. He hired all administrators and coaches presently in the Randolph Hall of Fame. He led the expansion and development of the high school football field, track, and field house in 1968. Dr. Wainer also led the construction of Shongum Elementary School, Fernbrook Elementary School, and Randolph High School.
Anne Standridge has been a contributor for Randolph Athletics and the district since 1986. Ms. Standridge served on the parks committee from 1986 - 2000, the recreation committee from 2000 – present, Randolph master plan committee, and pool committee. She served as the district’s recreation track coach for 20 years and has been influential in several athletic booster organizations. Ms. Standridge was a founding member of Ram Rac and has served on the Board of Education since 2012.
Len Pietrewicz is the longest serving Randolph High School coach having held multiple roles over the past 48 years. He has been the head girls cross country coach since 1977 leading the Rams to 13 conference titles, 9 county titles, and 15 state championships. He has held the girls winter track coaching position since 1977 as well leading the team to 9 conference titles, 35 county titles, and 7 state championships. He has served as the head coach for girls spring track since 1982 leading the team to 19 conference titles, 43 county titles, and 10 state championships. Mr. Pietrewicz has won coach of the year 36 times and was named one of New Jersey’s top girls coaches of the 20th century by the Star Ledger.
Pam Hovliaras ran cross country at Randolph from 1982-1985. She holds course records at Holmdel Park, Van Cortlandt Park, Nabisco Complex, Warinanco Park, Loantaka Park, and the Dover Invitational. Ms. Hovliaras won the conference championship with her team in 1982 & 1984, state sectionals in 1982 & 1984, and was team captain in 1985. She was honored with all-state in 1983.
Rob Tomaino was a member of Randolph’s winter and spring track teams from 1978 – 1981. His 1981 team won the 1981 Group Championship in track & field becoming the 1st sport to win this honor at Randolph. Mr. Tomaino holds the school record in the pole vault, was on the all-state team in 1981, and holds several county and conference championships in pole vault.
Tim Hakim was on the wrestling team from 1991 – 1994. He was state champion in 1994 with a 35-0 record, 3rd in the state in 1993 with a 33-1 record, and amassed a career record of 121-10. Mr. Hakim was a region and district champion in 1992, 1993, and 1994. At the time of his graduation, he held these RHS records: career wins, wins in a season, percentage wins, and most falls. He was a 1994 honorable mention for Wrestling USA’s High School All American Team. The Hakim family ranks 1st all-time in Randolph family wrestling history with 310 wins and 2nd in winning percentage (88%).
The 1987 football team was honored for their state championship (Section North 2, Group III) with a record of 11-0 becoming Randolph’s first undefeated team. The Daily Record awarded the program Team of the Year and ranked the team #1 in the area. They extended their winning streak to 16 games and ended the year 3rd in the state of New Jersey. Leading the football program was head coach John Bauer. Coach Bauer said: “The 1987 football team went undefeated because it was able to play its very best in crucial situations. This was due to the team’s extremely hard work in the summer and during each day’s practice. The 1987 Rams refused to lose. They had worked too hard to surrender easily.”
The 1992-1993 wrestling team was honored as the first Group 4 champion in the district’s history. They were ranked 3rd in the state of New Jersey compiling a 18-0 record. The team had 7 individual district champions, 5 state tournament representatives, 3 region champions, and placed 2nd in the county with 4 champions. Leading the wrestling program was head coach Ron Standridge.
Randolph Township Schools is incredibly proud of all the 2019 inductees and their contributions to our district. A special thank you to Randolph Hall of Fame Committee President Larry McMillan, Vice President Ron Standridge, Secretary Charles D’Amato, Treasurer Len Pietrewicz, John Brennan, Bill Cuff, Jerry Davis, Bill Hays, Tony Moschella, Rich Pilla, Lina Poppy, Blake Shanaphy, Anne Standridge, Tom Tinus, Steve Tobin, and John Van Brunt for making this event possible.